2017 U.S. Junior Championship

2016 Junior Closed

Dates July 7-18, 2017
Location Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis
Format 10-Player Round Robin
Prize Fund $20,600
The field Learn more about the field here.
Commentators Learn more about the commentators here. 
Spectators Members get in free or you can purchase a day pass starting at $5.

 

For the eigth consecutive year, the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis will host the Junior Championship, the premier, invitation-only tournament in the country for the nation's top rising stars.

This event showcases the top students in the country and serves as the perfect example for two of our important goals: Promoting chess at the scholastic level and supporting chess at the top level by providing a professional environment for the country's top tournaments.

Day Date Time* EVENT
Friday July 7
Player Arrival / Opening Ceremony
Saturday July 8 1:00 PM Round 1
Sunday July 9 1:00 PM Round 2
Monday July 10 1:00 PM Round 3
Tuesday July 11 1:00 PM Round 4
Wednesday July 12 1:00 PM Round 5
Thursday July 13 1:00 PM Rest Day
Friday July 14 1:00 PM Round 6
Saturday July 15 1:00 PM Round 7
Sunday July 16 1:00 PM Round 8
Monday July 17  11:00 AM Round 9 / Playoff
Tuesday July 18 
Player Departure

* All times listed are CDT (GMT-6).

Junior Championship Prize Fund

Place Prize Place Prize
1st $6,000 6th $1,200
2nd $4,000 7th $1,000
3rd $3,000 8th $800
4th $2,000 9th $600
5th $1,500 10th $500
Total Prize Fund: $20,600
You can watch all of the rounds live with expert commentary right here on uschesschamps.com. For more information about how you can watch live at the Chess Club, visit saintlouischessclub.org.