2020 U.S. Championship

The 2020 U.S. Championship is an elite national championship event, featuring 12 of the strongest chess players in America. Over the course of eleven rounds, these competitors will battle for $194,000 in prize moneyand the coveted title of 2020 U.S. Champion.

At A Glance
Dates April 9-23, 2020
Location Saint Louis Chess Club 
Format 12-Player Round Robin
Prize Fund $194,000
Spectators Purchase Tickets Here!

 

Date Time* Event
Wednesday, April 8 Community Day
Thursday, April 9 6:00 PM Opening Ceremony
Friday, April 10 1:00 PM Round 1
Saturday, April 11 1:00 PM Round 2
Sunday, April 12 1:00 PM Round 3
Monday, April 13 1:00 PM Round 4
Tuesday, April 14
Rest Day
Wednesday, April 15 1:00 PM Round 5
Thursday, April 16 1:00 PM
Round 6
Friday, April 17 1:00 PM Round 7
Saturday, April 18 1:00 PM Round 8
Sunday, April 19
Rest Day
Monday, April 20 1:00 PM Round 9
Tuesday, April 21 1:00 PM Round 10
Wednesday, April 22 1:00 PM Round 11
Thursday, April 23 1:00 PM Playoffs (if necessary)
6:00 PM Closing Ceremony

* All times listed are Central Standard Time (CST).

U.S. Championship Prize Fund
PLACE PRIZE PLACE PRIZE
1st $50,000 7th $9,000
2nd $35,000 8th $8,000
3rd $25,000 9th $7,000
4th $20,000 10th $6,000
5th $15,000 11th $5,000
6th $10,000 12th $4,000
Total Prize Fund $194,000

In addition, the Chess Club and Scholastic Center of Saint Louis will sponsor the “$64,000 Fischer Bonus Prize”. Any player that finishes the U.S. Championship field with a perfect 11-0 score shall be awarded an additional $64,000.

Live Spectator Accommodations

Tickets will include: 

  • Access to watch game play live in the tournament hall
  • Live game analysis and commentary broadcast in the Saint Louis Chess Club lobby
  • Additional live commentary available in Kingside Diner
  • Kingside Diner 50% off menu items for spectators with ticket purchase from 12-6 p.m.
  • Complimentary valet parking available on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday during tournament rounds.
  • Note: Tickets are $10 for non-members and free for annual members of the Saint Louis Chess Club. For more information on the benefits of an annual membership, visit our website

The Chess Club has special hotel rates with the following establishments. Please make sure to ask for the "chess rate" when making reservations.

Chase Park Plaza Hotel Holiday Inn Express Hampton Inn & Suites


Parkway Hotel


212 N. Kingshighway
Saint Louis, MO 63108
(877)-587-2427

Chess rate:
$159/night
$179/suite


4630 Lindell Blvd.
Saint Louis, MO 63108
(314) 361-4900

Chess rate:
$114/night
$10/night parking 
breakfast included 


5650 Oakland Ave.
Saint Louis, MO 63110
(314) 655-3994

Chess Rate:
10% off
call 314-655-3993


4550 Forest Park Ave.
Saint Louis, MO 63108
(314) 256-7777

Chess Rate:
$126 King
$136 Double 
ask for CHESS RATE